Author bio

Author Image

Simms Taback - book author

Simms Taback was an American writer, graphic artist, and illustrator of more than 35 books. He won the 2000 Caldecott Medal for U.S. picture book illustration, recognizing Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, and was a runner-up in 1998 for There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly.

Simms Taback is the author of books: There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly, Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, This is the House that Jack Built, Postcards from Camp, I Miss You Every Day, Simms Taback's City Animals, Simms Taback's Safari Animals, Kibitzers and Fools: Tales My Zayda Told Me, Simms Taback's Farm Animals, Dinosaurs: A Giant Fold-Out Book

Author Signature

Author Books

#
Title
Description
01
An old favorite as you've never seen it before! Everyone knows the song about the old lady who swallowed a fly, a spider, a bird, and even worse, but who's ever seen what's going on inside the old lady's stomach? With this inventive die-cut artwork, Simms Tabak gives us a rollicking, eye-popping version of the well-loved poem.
02
Joseph had a little overcoat, but it was full of holes--just like this book! When Joseph's coat got too old and shabby, he made it into a jacket. But what did he make it into after that? And after that?As children turn the pages of this book, they can use the die-cut holes to guess what Joseph will be making next from his amazing overcoat, while they laugh at the bold, cheerful artwork and learn that you can always make something, even out of nothing.
03
What happened in the house that Jack built? It all started with the cheese that lay in the house that Jack built. And then came the rat that ate the cheese and the cat who killed the rat. Caldecott Medal?winning author and illustrator Simms Taback brings his distinctive humor and creativity to the beloved story of Jack and the house that he built.
04
The hilarious correspondence between a reluctant first-time camper and his dad

This fabulously creative book by Caldecott Award winner Simms Taback features handmade postcards and funny letters that readers will enjoy pulling out of their envelopes. Michael is new to sleepaway camp, and it's not going so well. He thinks his counselor is an alien, his bunkmates are pranksters, and it's constantly raining. So he sends his dad a series of urgent notes pleading for rescue. His dad is quick to reply, but encourages Michael to stick it out, reminding him that he met some of his best buddies at camp. Eventually there is a subtle change in Michael's tone - and a mention of a friend or two. Before you know it, Michael's a happy camper who's planning a longer stay next time.

Fans of Griffin & Sabine and The Jolly Postman will delight in the artistry of this book; the incredibly detailed cards and envelopes and amazing stamps. And they will enjoy taking part in a correspondence that reveals a deep affection between father and child, as Michael's exaggerated pleas are answered by his father's gentle jokes and advice. Here is a book that families and friends will enjoy together - and there's even a classic campfire ghost story tucked into one of those envelopes!
05
What do you do when you miss someone every day? If you live in the eloquently magical world of Simms Taback, you wrap yourself in paper, close yourself up in a box (don?t forget the air holes!) and mail yourself to the one you love. From the creator of the Caldecott Medal-winning Joseph Had a Little Overcoat comes this tale about what a little girl will do to reach the person she just can?t live without. Filled with Taback?s signature vibrant colors and dynamic characters, with a lyrical text that?s as silly as it is moving, this gesture of love will resonate with anyone who?s ever missed someone.
06
This follow-up to Simms Taback's Safari Animals presents six city animals in a guessing-game format: a pigeon, a police horse, a squirrel, a dog, a cat, a swan--all poster-size illustrations in Taback's one-of-a-kind style.
07
Here's a book that's also a guessing game! Turn the page for your first clue: "I have a huge mane." Open the flap and you'll see another: "I can roar." Open one more, and you'll see the answer to the riddle: "It's a lion!" In this colorful book of safari animals, the award-winning art of Simms Taback becomes a fun, interactive guessing game.
08
"A saying: It pays to have a little chutzpah (nerve)."

With Old World charm, universal humor, and just a bit of chutzpah, Simms Taback offers this lively spin on thirteen playful tales--as only he could. Paired with his trademark vibrant and hilarious artwork, these stories illustrate ultimate universal truths and important life lessons, from the difference between a shlemiel and a shlimazel to the idea that just because you can talk doesn't mean you make sense.Taback delivers the perfect combination of wisdom and humor--just the way your zayda (grandpa) would.
09
Caldecott award-winning illustrator Simms Taback adds Farm Animals to his best-selling City Animals and Safari Animals series. Just like the other books, Farm Animals is a guessing game. Turn the page for your first clue:  “I have curly hair.” Open the flap and you’ll see another clue: “I say “Baa.”  Open one more and you’ll see the answer to the riddle: “I’m a lamb.”  It’s a fun, interactive book featuring five barnyard favorites (hen, goat, cow, lamb and donkey) in Taback’s signature bold and bright style.