Author bio

Author Image

A.J. Pearce - book author

AJ Pearce grew up in Hampshire and studied at the University of Sussex. A chance discovery of a 1939 women's magazine became the inspiration for her ever-growing collection and her first novel Dear Mrs Bird. She now lives and writes in the south of England.

A.J. Pearce is the author of books: Dear Mrs. Bird, Liebe Mrs. Bird, Disappeared ; Dear Mrs. Bird ; The echo killing ; Between you & me (Reader's Digest Select Editions, 2018)

Author Signature

Author Books

#
Title
Description
01
A charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London 1940, bombs are falling. Emmy Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent seem suddenly achievable. But the job turns out to be typist to the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs Bird is very clear: Any letters containing Unpleasantness—must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant letters from women who are lonely, may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men and found themselves in trouble, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write letters back to the women of all ages who have spilled out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels with Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are spirited and gutsy, even in the face of events that bring a terrible blow. As the bombs continue to fall, the irrepressible Emmy keeps writing, and readers are transformed by AJ Pearce’s hilarious, heartwarming, and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
03
DISAPPEARED: There are a lot of things happening in Wyoming to keep game warden Joe Pickett busy, from a missing VIP to a mysterious factory engaged in a very shady operation.

DEAR MRS. BIRD: An aspiring young journalist takes the exciting first step in her career as a Lady War Correspondent during the London Blitz. Except, it turns out, that's not the job at all.

THE ECHO KILLING: A crime reporter needs to be able to think fast and get to the bottom of things. But it's not so easy when the biggest crime in town is a repeat of her own devastating past.

BETWEEN YOU & ME: There are things in life that we are meant to do, and expectations we naturally grow into. Sometimes, however, life has its own ideas about who we are and what we should be.